Thailand Islands : Similan Islands


Thailand Islands: Similan Islands

Share |

The Similan Islands National Marine Park is a haven for divers with amazing corals, various types of sharks including hammerhead and grey reef and a fantastic range of sealife. Similan is a Malay word meaning nine islands and these islands lie approximately 50 kilometres west of Khao Lak. The Similans became a national marine park in 1982. The nine islands named from South to North are:

Ko Huyong (known as Similan Island 1)
Ko Payang (Similan Island 2)
Ko Payan (Similan Island 3)
Ko Miang (Similan Island 4)
Ko Ha (Similan Island 5)
Ko Payu (Similan Island 6)
Ko Hin Pousar (Similan Island 7)
Ko Similan (Similan Island 8)
Ko Bangu (Similan Island 9)

View Larger Map